New Zealand Labour Party

New faces, wise heads in bold Labour line up

Labour Leader Andrew Little today announced a bold new caucus line up which brings forward new talent and draws on the party’s depth of experience.

“Labour has many new and highly capable MPs who have will have the opportunity to prove their ability. At the same time our senior hands will be on deck to take the fight to the National-led Government and support our upcoming stars,” Andrew Little says. 

“I am pleased to announce Annette King will be my deputy for the coming year. In recent weeks she has shown how crucial her wisdom and strength is to Labour. 

“Grant Robertson will be my Finance spokesperson and number three. He is one of the best performers in Parliament and is more than a match for Bill English. 

“Nanaia Mahuta’s lead role in Labour regaining the Māori seats is recognised in her number four position and her reappointment as Māori Development spokesperson. 

“Talented up and comers Carmel Sepuloni, Kelvin Davis and David Clark are taking on key roles and will be important members of my front bench. 

“These roles will be reviewed in a year to ensure Labour has the strongest possible team to head into the 2017 election. 

“This is an exciting new line up and I’m looking forward to getting down to business,” Andrew Little.



  1. Andrew Little, Leader of the Labour Party, Security and Intelligence
  2. Annette King, Deputy Leader, Health
  3. Grant Robertson, Finance
  4. Nanaia Mahuta, Māori Development
  5. Phil Twyford, Housing, Transport
  6. Chris Hipkins, Senior Whip, Shadow Leader of the House, Education
  7. Carmel Sepuloni, Junior Whip, Social Development
  8. Kelvin Davis, Police, Corrections, Domestic and Sexual Violence, Associate Regional Development, Associate Education (Māori)
  9. Jacinda Ardern, Justice, Children, Small Business, Arts & Culture
  10. David Clark, Economic Development, Associate Finance, Associate Health
  11. Su'a William Sio, Pacific Island Affairs, Local Government, Associate Housing (South Auckland), Interfaith Dialogue
  12. Iain Lees-Galloway, Labour
  13. Megan Woods, Environment, Climate Change
  14. David Cunliffe, Regional Development, Tertiary Education, Innovation, Research & Development, Science & Technology, Associate Economic Development
  15. David Parker, Shadow Attorney General, Treaty Negotiations, Trade & Export Growth
  16. David Shearer, Foreign Affairs, Consumer Affairs
  17. Phil GoffDefence, Veterans’ Affairs, Disarmament, Auckland Issues, Ethnic Affairs


Unranked (listed by time served as an MP):

  • Trevor Mallard, Assistant Speaker, Internal Affairs (excluding Gambling), Sport & Recreation, Animal Rights, Parliamentary Reform
  • Ruth Dyson, Conservation, Senior Citizens, Disability Issues, Canterbury Earthquake Recovery
  • Damien O'Connor, Primary Industries, Biosecurity, Food Safety
  • Clayton Cosgrove, Revenue, State Owned Enterprises, Building and Construction, Earthquake Commission, Associate Finance
  • Sue Moroney, ACC, Immigration, Women's Affairs, Associate Labour
  • Clare Curran, ICT, Broadcasting, Open Government, Associate Justice, Associate Commerce
  • Kris Faafoi, Commerce, State Services, Racing, Assistant Whip
  • Louisa Wall, Youth Affairs, Associate Auckland Issues (South Auckland), Associate Sport and Recreation
  • Stuart Nash, Forestry, Energy, Land Information, Statistics
  • Rino Tirikatene, Fisheries, Associate Regional Development, Customs
  • Meka Whaitiri, Water, Associate Regional Development, Associate Finance, Associate Primary Industries
  • Poto Williams, Community & Voluntary, Associate Housing (Christchurch), Associate Justice (Family), Associate Education (Christchurch Schools)
  • Peeni Henare, Tourism, Associate Māori Development (Employment & Te Reo Māori)
  • Adrian Rurawhe, Civil Defence & Emergency Management, Associate Internal Affairs (Gambling), Associate Treaty Negotiations
  • Jenny Salesa, Employment Skills & Training