Ministers sworn in to Government

Today the Governor-General swore in the new Executive.

All Ministers, including the Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister, attended the swearing-in ceremony at Government House in Wellington.

The ceremony began with a Karakia, before everyone stood to sing the National Anthem. Then, the Governor-General officially appointed the Prime Minister as an Executive Councillor and as Prime Minister. 

All Ministers of the new Labour Government were appointed and sworn in to their portfolios, before joining the Prime Minister and Governor-General for a photo. 

With the conclusion of this ceremony, we have officially formed Government. Now, with a new and refreshed line up, our Labour Government will continue to do the mahi to keep New Zealand moving.

For the full list of Ministers and MPs in our Labour Government, head here.